Oil Cleansing Method: I am a believer.

I have been loving my skin lately. I have written many posts on products I have been using on my facial skin, since I have been seeing great results.

For some reason, these past few months, I have become intimidated by the idea of looking old, and getting wrinkles. I am only 25, but the fear is REAL. I sincerely want to look young forever, or at least help my skin slow down the process. Some people look great with age (#krisjenner), but, unfortunately, I am not trying to get Botox (yet) nor am I trying to get plastic surgery (since I have this theory that when you age on top of plastic surgery, you just end up looking really odd).

Okay, done bantering. So what is this OIL CLEANSING METHOD I speak of? How can you make it apart of your skincare routine?  Here is a quick YouTube video on it:

My routine is incredibly similar, except I use organic coconut oil. I usually wash my face with warm water prior to using the oil mixture (60% coconut oil mixed with 40% castor oil –I have oily skin). I will dry my face thoroughly, since water and oil don’t mix, and after drying it I will rub in the oil all over my face!  

Short on time: I will use a wash cloth and use the method shown in CloudyApples’ video! 

Time to indulge: If I have 10 to 15 minutes to spare, then before starting the process, I will put water to boil in a kettle, then I’ll do the steps listed above, in regards to massaging the oils in my face. After the water boils I will put it in a plastic container, and steam my face! 

I steam my face just like the girl in the above video. I do not do it for 15 minutes, because I do not have the patience to sit for that long – more like 5 minutes -10 minutes! Also, I do not partake in the lemon -cotton ball situation, but I may try it in the future (I’ll let you know if I do, and my thoughts on it). 

After steaming my face, I simply rinse my face with cold water to close up the pores & then pat my face dry!  Remember, after doing all of these steps you may have a little excess oil on your face – don’t worry you are fine! 

One great side affect I noticed through trying out this method was that my skin was less oily the day after I did the method. Usually around 3:00 pm my skin is super greasy and could use an oil blotting sheet, but the day after using this cleanse, I notice my skin is more balanced – it’s obviously not dry, but it is definitely producing less oil than it normally does! 

Have you tried the Oil Cleansing Method?  Do you love it as much as I do? 

 

Leave a Reply

