Instant Pot: Shan Chicken Biryani

Hi Friends,

I am going to start “vlogging” and trying my hand at recording a recipe (don’t hold your breath though). To that point, I made this recipe this weekend:

So delicious and so easy. Thanks to the Instant Pot, probably took 30 -40 minutes to prepare and cook everything.

As you know, I am known for deviating from recipes, and I only deviated from this recipe by taking Garlic Paste (purchased from the grocery store in the herb section) put it in the Magic Bullet, along with 2 jalapenos, 8-10 mint leaves, and a 2 tablespoon chunk of ginger (along with a little bit of water), and pureed the crap out of it. I don’t have time to chop things finely – nor am I that talented. Besides this small deviation, I  followed the recipe like the video (only issue – I apparently failed to put my pressure cooker on “sealing” mode so after 8 minutes of cooking  I was done!

I would recommend making sure your instant pot is sealed, because I seemed to have gotten lucky with respect to my chicken being cooked all the way through, and I very easily could have made biryani with the chicken being under cooked.

I also recommend preparing all of the ingredients before hand (chopping, cubing the chicken, soaking the rice &  making the above mentioned garlic-ginger-jalapeno paste), since if I didn’t have my amazing husband supervising and mixing, something would have BURNED.

My thoughts on the recipe:

It was yummy. Wasn’t the BEST biryani I’ve had, but definitely tasted great and enjoyed eating it at work the next day and am looking forward to eating it at home (this is a good sign  – since when I don’t take it to work or look forward to eating it at home, then it ends up in the trash …)

Curious to know your thoughts! Feel free to share in the comments.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

